He will be fine….. but will I? By Nicki

He will be fine….. but will I?

Half way through the summer hols and my sanity is still intact.

This is Kieran’s first “summer holiday off” as he has been at preschool for the past year and starts “big school” in September. I was initially very worried at how I would cope with keeping him entertained when clearly I do not have the saint-like enthusiasm the preschool teachers have, and mindful that I have more work now that I did before end of term AND that I am getting increasingly huge (pregnancy, not comfort eating!), I expected to be tearing my hair out by now. However…. I am loving it! There is little locally to entertain Kieran and the weather has been either so hot even he wants to stay indoors near the fan or so wet and windy we daren’t venture out for fear of being caught in a monsoon! Despite this, we have absolutely revelled in each other’s company – be it baking, doing crafts, jigsaw or games galore, visiting family, walking to the train station to train spot, bus trips out, play dates and lots of local walks collecting leaves, looking at bugs etc or just doing our own thing and enjoying our own time, it has worked wonderfully.

So what am I going to in September when he is gone all day?? He can’t wait (little traitor!) but I am increasingly aware that I am going to miss him terribly. The long-suffering hubby has promised to paint the nursery for baby2 the last weekend in August so that when I am faced with a very empty house all day long I can throw myself  into getting everything ready for baby and working (with the radio on loud…… very loud!) to occupy myself. Is this empty nest syndrome? Ok it’s not empty for long – just between 8.50am and 3.45pm Monday – Friday but still I am not used to, and I know I should be grateful of the break to myself as baby2 is due in early December but I am really struggling with the idea of my firstborn baby (and he is still my baby says a very precious Mummy!) being away all day and I suspect more so not needing me. Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t want to keep him at home either, I know he needs more and am sure he will thrive at school, but it’s very harrowing.

So come on Mums and Dads – is this pregnancy hormones, am I being precious or is this a common thing, mourning the end of an era. If anyone has any wise words or coping strategies I’m all ears!

2 Responses to “He will be fine….. but will I? By Nicki”

  1. Sharon Spink Says:

    No I don’t think it is pregnancy hormones. It’s something I think most parents go through. You have your child with you 24/7 for 3 or 4 years and then suddenly they’re not there all day. How do you fill those hours if you don’t have a younger child or go to work? Your house will be spotless and you could bake but how many buns can 1 mum eat a day? Facebook/Twitter? I’m sure you’ll get used to a quiet empty house soon and just as you do it will be school holidays again – they seem to come round so quick and then it won’t be long until baby #2 arrives and you start all over again. I’m going to miss my daughter when she goes to school but I think it means I will appreciate her more when she’s here if you see what I mean.

  2. Lorna Young Says:

    The reality isn’t as harsh as the idea says the mum who sent her third child off to school last year. It is amazing how you will enjoy your free time (in a loyal way) and you won’t know how you managed without the joys of the school day!! It is just long enough to gain some adult time doing those lovely things like housework, ironing, cleaning, etc or lunching with the ladies or retail therapy and before you know it 2.30 is here and it’s time to go pick up the little cherub. You then get enough quality time to spend wth them before bed and that time is very precious.

    Don’t mourn the end of an era, embrace the new era as it’s as magical as the first era!!

Leave a Reply

